First, A Crusty Intro

how are y'all curstaceans doing?

ยท

3 min read

I've spent a good part of my very few years as a Software Developer encountering different programming languages which everyone thought to be the big thing in that moment. There was Java while I was in school studying computer science, then there was PHP which I didn't start a good relationship with, then there was Python, which helped my grounding in programming, and then there was JavaScript. Which is still my greatest love to date even though I now write TypeScript.

But before all these languages, there was C++. I picked it up as early as my pre-teens because all I wanted to do at that age was build games like Star Wars and Street Fighter. I still want to eventually - still on that never let your inner child fade away stuff.

My point in talking about C++ is that, while I did learn it, at least till It got too difficult, and then there was a bout of back and forth with the language till today, I had taken a while to grasp properly the concepts and principles of computer programming, understanding the consistencies between languages before I became comfortable with C++.

Fast forward years later and I'm about 4 years in, a JavaScript Engineer and I see all this hype about a language that has all the power of C++ but the sexiness(permit me) of JavaScript and Python, and It made the butterflies in my belly flutter, and from what I've learned so far, rust is the babe she thinks she is. ๐Ÿ˜.

So why is a TypeScript developer writing about rust? No, I'm not moving to Rust I still have a deep familiarity with TS but I'm curious about the Rust programming language if it will take me back to my days of yearning to build not just games this time but also tinker with hardware and embedded systems, y'know, something a little more hands-on.

So Here I am openly declaring to the vast infinity of the interwebs that I'm spending the next 30 days learning rust and to accompany that will be a series of posts about my learnings called Deciphering Rust. Now, I'm not going to promise to post consistently every day but I'll post every week as long as there's breath in me.

I'm already excited about the new things I'll build and the magic I'll get to make with this. While learning, I aim to build 10 projects whose resources will be inspired by this GitHub repository, which I'll also write about.

It's always a new day in the world of technology from AI and Extended Reality to Quantum Programming and no one, most especially me, won't like being left behind in the dust so this is me sitting down to sharpen my sword before I go ahead and start cutting down trees into 2024. I hope you're going on the same journey too.

Cheers ๐Ÿฅ‚